Exciting March 2020 YA Releases #1 + News: From Forgotten Land to Witch Club

Hello, friends! March is here and you know what it means… new book releases! If you’re not sure what books you want to read, no need to worry, I have a lot of exciting YA releases this week I know you’d love! For fans of Leigh Bardugo and Natasha Ngan, I have some good news for you too! Keep reading to find few exciting news from your favorite authors! So, are you ready to get lost in these amazing gems? Let’s check them up!

THE MIDNIGHT LIE
by Marie Rutkoski

Fantasy | #1 in series
Publication date: march 3rd 2020

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Where Nirrim lives, crime abounds, a harsh tribunal rules, and society’s pleasures are reserved for the High Kith. Life in the Ward is grim and punishing. People of her low status are forbidden from sampling sweets or wearing colors. You either follow the rules, or pay a tithe and suffer the consequences.

Nirrim keeps her head down, and a dangerous secret close to her chest.

But then she encounters Sid, a rakish traveler from far away, who whispers rumors that the High Kith possesses magic. Sid tempts Nirrim to seek that magic for herself. But to do that, Nirrim must surrender her old life. She must place her trust in this sly stranger who asks, above all, not to be trusted.

Reason to read: An epic f/f fantasy romance? Yes! If you love The Winner’s Trilogy, I’m sure you’ll love this one! Rutkoski’ writing is so exquisite, so don’t miss this one out!

Review: The Midnight Lie by Marie Rutkoski: Magical and Exquisite

ANNA K.: A LOVE STORY
by Jenny Lee

Retelling | stand-alone
Publication date: march 3rd 2020

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Meet Anna K. At seventeen, she is at the top of Manhattan and Greenwich society (even if she prefers the company of her horses and Newfoundland dogs); she has the perfect (if perfectly boring) boyfriend, Alexander W.; and she has always made her Korean-American father proud (even if he can be a little controlling). Meanwhile, Anna’s brother, Steven, and his girlfriend, Lolly, are trying to weather an sexting scandal; Lolly’s little sister, Kimmie, is struggling to recalibrate to normal life after an injury derails her ice dancing career; and Steven’s best friend, Dustin, is madly (and one-sidedly) in love with Kimmie.

As her friends struggle with the pitfalls of ordinary teenage life, Anna always seems to be able to sail gracefully above it all. That is…until the night she meets Alexia “Count” Vronsky at Grand Central. A notorious playboy who has bounced around boarding schools and who lives for his own pleasure, Alexia is everything Anna is not. But he has never been in love until he meets Anna, and maybe she hasn’t, either. As Alexia and Anna are pulled irresistibly together, she has to decide how much of her life she is willing to let go for the chance to be with him. And when a shocking revelation threatens to shatter their relationship, she is forced to question if she has ever known herself at all.

Reason to read: Yes, it’s a retelling of Anna Karenina but hear me out, this is going to be a fun book to read. Also, this one kinda radiates big rich-kids-that-go-to-boarding-school energy and that’s one of my favorite things to read! To be honest, I haven’t read Anna Karenina, should I read it before reading this?

Review: Emma’s review at Goodreads

THE KINGDOM OF BACK
by Marie Lu

Historical fantasy | stand-alone
Publication date: march 3rd 2020

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart.

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish—to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she’ll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age—her tyrannical father has made that much clear.

And as Nannerl’s hope grows dimmer with each passing year, the talents of her beloved younger brother, Wolfgang, only seem to shine brighter. His brilliance begins to eclipse her own, until one day a mysterious stranger from a magical land appears with an irresistible offer. He has the power to make her wish come true—but his help may cost her everything.

Reason to read: Marie Lu is known for making science fiction books so when she’s making a comeback with historical fantasy, I have no choice to read it, have I?

Review: Lili @ Utopia State of Mind

WICKED AS YOU WISH
by Rin Chupeco

Fantasy | #1 in series
Publication date: march 3rd 2020

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Tala Warnock has little use for magic – as a descendant of Maria Makiling, the legendary Filipina heroine, she negates spells, often by accident. But her family’s old ties to the country of Avalon (frozen, bespelled, and unreachable for almost 12 years) soon finds them guarding its last prince from those who would use his kingdom’s magic for insidious ends.

And with the rise of dangerous spelltech in the Royal States of America; the appearance of the firebird, Avalon’s deadliest weapon, at her doorstep; and the re-emergence of the Snow Queen, powerful but long thought dead, who wants nothing more than to take the firebird’s magic for her own – Tala’s life is about to get even more complicated….

Reason to read: Another lovely book from Rin Chupeco. I’m so happy for finally seeing Filipino representation on mainstream media, especially in YA books. Also, fairytales inspired book? A yes from me! If you’re a sucker for fairytales novel, I guess you would definitely love this book. Psst, strong female heroine, here we come.

Review: 5 Reasons to Read Wicked as You Wish (soon on my blog!)

WHEN WE WERE MAGIC
by Sarah Gailey

Fantasy | stand-alone
Publication date: march 3rd 2020

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Keeping your magic a secret is hard. Being in love with your best friend is harder.

Alexis has always been able to rely on two things: her best friends, and the magic powers they all share. Their secret is what brought them together, and their love for each other is unshakeable—even when that love is complicated. Complicated by problems like jealousy, or insecurity, or lust. Or love.

That unshakeable, complicated love is one of the only things that doesn’t change on prom night.

When accidental magic goes sideways and a boy winds up dead, Alexis and her friends come together to try to right a terrible wrong. Their first attempt fails—and their second attempt fails even harder. Left with the remains of their failed spells and more consequences than anyone could have predicted, each of them must find a way to live with their part of the story.

Reason to read: Witches and women. That should be enough for you to pick this book up. I feel like this would be a perfect book for you to read during Halloween, but hey, every month is Halloween if you’re secretly a witch who’s in love with your friend and there’s a murder around the corner…

Review: The Nerd Daily

ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED
by Sophie Gonzales

Contemporary | stand-alone
Publication date: march 3rd 2020

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Summer love…gone fast.

Ollie and Will were meant to be a summer fling—casual, fun, and done. But when Ollie’s aunt’s health takes a turn for the worse and his family decides to stay in North Carolina to take care of her, Ollie lets himself hope this fling can grow to something more. Dreams that are crushed when he sees Will at a school party and finds that the sweet and affectionate (and comfortably queer) guy he knew from summer isn’t the same one attending Collinswood High.

Will is more than a little shocked to see Ollie the evening of that first day of school. While his summer was spent being very much himself, back at school he’s simply known as one of the varsity basketball guys. Now Will is faced with the biggest challenge of his life: follow his heart and risk his friendships, or stay firmly in the closet and lose what he loves most.

Reason to read: Grease inspired novel, Simon vs. Homo Sapiens Agenda meets Clueless. Okay, I get it, you’ll be a great novel, you’ll be a good coming-of-age novel. I get it! But, before you read this, make sure you check the trigger warnings: death of the loved one, fatphobia and homophobia.

Review: Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books

In case you’re missing something, I’ve gathered few bookish news for you! Buckle up, this one is going to be interesting…

YES. YES. YES! I want to scream because YES! Natasha Ngan is back again! With that cliffhanger ending, I’m curious with what happened to both Lei and Wren. I really can’t wait to read their adventure again. My precious babies… off to save the world.
No mourners, no funerals. Yes, you heard it right! The show is wrapped and now we’re all waiting for the trailer to drop! When do you think it will be? Also, with that Ravkan edition of Shadow and Bone… does it mean… Ravkan language on screen?!
Alright, you got me at lumpia! I mean, who doesn’t love lumpia? Culinary themed mystery book by Filipino author? Absolutely delicious. I can’t wait for 2021 so I can get my hands on Love, Loss, and Lumpia!
The first book isn’t here yet June Hur already announced her second book. Well, I don’t see other option other than adding it to my TBR. (shrugs)
Oh to be a beautiful book cover… I think we all can agree that The Once and Future Witches cover is absolutely stunning. And I heard this book is about feminist witches in 1893, so what are we waiting for ladies? It’s out in October 2020!
And last but not least, we have cover reveal for Court of Lions by Somaiya Daud! It’s a sequel to her first debut, Mirage, and wow I’m already attached to the cover alone. Out in August 2020!

🍂 What is your plan for this week?
🍂 Are you going to read one of the books I mentioned?
🍂 Are you excited with the upcoming releases?
🍂 Let me know in the comment section below!

5 thoughts on “Exciting March 2020 YA Releases #1 + News: From Forgotten Land to Witch Club

  1. Ahh thank you so much for sharing my review ❤ There are so many exciting releases this month! I can't wait to get a copy of Anna K., it sounds SO good 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s