You’ll Like This if You Liked This!

Hello everyone and welcome back to readlogy’s new post! A little update of my not-so-bookish life, I finally read Six of Crows after so many times avoiding the book. So far, I understand why so many people hype this up. Let’s see how I’ll feel about this book once I finished it.

Anyway, today I’m going to give another book recommendation. This book recommendation is inspired from Hailey and Hanna on YouTube! These are list of books have a lot of similarities from other books, comics and tv shows. So, without further ado, let’s get started!

 

⋆ If you like Avatar: The Last Airbender, read Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi ⋆

Avatar: The Last Airbender Children of Blood and Bone

It’s really obvious, isn’t it? Actually, Tomi Adeyemi drew her inspiration from Avatar: The Last Airbender when writing Children of Blood and Bone, so that really explains why. Children of Blood and Bone follows Zélie, a young diviner who lost her mother when she was a kid under the order of tyrant king, Saran. When Zélie accidentally meets Amari, the princess, she has no choice to go on a journey to retrieve magic back and defeat Saran, along with her older brother, Tzain. Their journey, of course, is not going to be as easy as they think, especially they have the crown prince follows their trail and wants to kill them.

Well, does the summary ring a bell to you? A daughter who is able to perform magic, a non-bending (or in Adeyemi’s book, kosidán) brother and running away from the crown prince. And that’s not the only reason why I recommend this to you.

While we are already familiar with the term bender from Avatar’s world, maji is someone with ability to control the elements. Not only water, earth, fire and air, maji also has power over the death, mind, spirit and dream. The power to heal and spread disease. The power to control light and darkness, and last; they’re able to manipulate animals.

In my opinion, there are a lot of parallels between Avatar: The Last Airbender and Children of Blood and Bone, and here are some parallels I found:

  • What is white people? This is POC event only! Yes, I can’t even mention one white character from Children of Blood and Bone, just like I can’t mention one white character from Avatar: The Last Airbender
  • The characters and abilities, as I mentioned earlier
  • Tyrant king who wants to conquer the world
  • Royal children have big role on the story
  • A group of tree tries to save the world, only to be followed by a crown prince
  • The personality of each characters. Zélie reminds me of Katara so much, while Inan reminds me of Zuko. Not only because of their title and role, but their personality and backstory as well. Zélie lost her mother while she was a kid, and so did Katara. Inan is a crown prince but also a disappointment to the throne, so is Zuko
  • What happened in Orïsha during the Raid feels similar to what happened in Southern Water Tribe. Both are taking away and killing all the remaining waterbenders and majis
  • The cultural reference these two has. Children of Blood and Bone is inspired from West African mythology and rich with its culture, while Avatar: The Last Airbender draws various inspiration from Chinese, Japanese and Korean culture.

If you haven’t read Children of Blood and Bone, read it now. It may not as good as our beloved Avatar: The Last Airbender, but if you want to feel nostalgic, pick this book up!

 

⋆ While we’re at it, if you like Children of Blood and Bone, read We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal ⋆

Children of Blood and Bone We Hunt the Flame

If you’re trying to find a fantasy book that is rich in culture, has magic and features a group of people work together in a journey, you should read We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal. I can’t express how important the book is for me and how fond I am toward this.

In the Kingdom of Arawiya, magic is long gone. People begin to starve and suffers from the loss of magic. With the Arz threatens people’s live from every Caliphate, it’s only matter of time the kingdom is swallowed whole by the darkness. So when the huntress Zafira is tasked to bring magic back, she’s terrified. Eventually, Zafira finds herself in a quest to retrieve magic back by finding a lost artifact. But what if someone is sent to kill her? What if someone wants the artifact for himself?

As I read Children of Blood and Bone¸ I can see there are few similarities that reminds me of We Hunt the Flame, so here we go:

  • Whereas Children of Blood and Bone is inspired from West African mythology, We Hunt the Flame is inspired from ancient Arabia. Both books drew their inspiration from old worlds and I honestly can’t say no to both
  • The amount of representation they have
  • Both books set in a kingdom where magic once lived and people suffer from its lost
  • Zafira and Zélie go in a quest to bring magic back. The former is to gather a lost artifact, the latter is to find and perform a ritual to make magic alive again
  • On their quest, the crown princes want them dead, so they interfere, only to end up having interest to one another at the end
  • Both kingdoms have tyrant king / sultan
  • Again, the cultural reference. I’m really glad of the amount of cultural reference YA novels have nowadays—it’s the same with We Hunt the Flame. You don’t know how many times I smiled because I understood the reference We Hunt the Flame (Spoiler, the characters eat the same dates as me so hey, I’m happy!)
  • Same tragic story following the princes. Both Inan and Nasir have a tragic past, but aren’t the prince all?

I really, really recommend this book to you. It’s a good representation, and I love it. If you’re a Muslim too, you’ll find yourself liking this book!

 

⋆ Are you a Stranger Things fan? Have you checked the Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand? ⋆

Stranger Things Sawkill Girls

If you’ve read my previous post, I guess you already know that this one is coming. Sawkill Girls reminds me a lot of Stranger Things, not the characters but the storyline and elements. The book is set in a fictional island, where for years, girls have gone missing mysteriously. Until when Marion moves to the island, and that’s when the answers slowly come up to light. With the help of Zoey and Val, Marion faces the evil who is the key of all missing girls. Can they save themselves and Sawkill Rocks?

If you ask me, I prefer Sawkill Girls than Stranger Things. First, they’re more inclusive. Second, what if we have THREE badass girls banishing evil being from our world… haha just kidding… unless?

Like Stranger Things, Sawkill Girls’ characters have superpower. All three girls—Marion, Zoey and Val—have hidden powers within them. They use their power to solve the mystery, to fight the evils and to protect their family.

Actually, there are a lot of differences between the two, but I can’t help to think about Stranger Things while reading this. So, as if you love Stranger Things, try to read this book!

 

⋆ Can’t get enough of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe? Try Darius the Great is not Okay by Adib Khorram ⋆

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets Darius the Great is not Okay

Once upon a time, we all cried because of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. It’s a beautiful, heartwarming book. It’s something teenagers can all relate to. I’m also fond of the book and the characters, I wish I could hug both Ari and Dante for real.

If you’re also fond with Ari and Dante, I think you’ll like Darius the Great is not Okay just fine. The book follows Darius Kellner, a Persian-American boy who grows up in America. He never visits Iran for all his life, so when his family visited Iran for the first time, Darius gets very anxious. He couldn’t speak Farsi, he didn’t really understand Persian culture. Visiting Iran just proves his point that Darius is somewhere in between; he’s not American enough nor Persian enough.

Then Darius meets Sohrab, who helps Darius navigate his life in Iran. For the first time, Darius feels like he is indeed True Persian. He develops friendship with Sohrab, they play soccer everyday, they understand each other.  Until it’s time for Darius to go back to America and finally, he knows that he’s going to be okay.

This book, actually, is not really similar aside from the theme and vibe. The plot is totally different from Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, the characters are different too. There are so many differences, but the vibe this book gives just remind me so much of Ari and Dante.

Whereas Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe talk about accepting your sexuality and coming out to your parents, Darius the Great is not Okay talk about depression and how it affects you. All of mental health books, Darius the Great is not Okay successfully raising awareness that a depressed person can look just fine when they’re not, without romanticizing depression can be cured once you meet the one. It doesn’t even glorify depression, this book just comes clear about it, gives you an insight how society treats mental illness and how people deal with it.

Please prepare your tissue if you want to pick Darius the Great is not Okay!

 

⋆ Do you love Wonder Woman? Same, but have you read Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo? ⋆

Wonder Woman Vol. 4 Wonder Woman: Warbringer

I know there are so many mixed reviews about DC Icons, but hear me out, Wonder Woman: Warbringer is THE BEST DC Icons novel! And that’s on periodt! This book follows young Diana Prince who is trying her best to prove that she’s a worthy Amazon like her mother and sisters. Diana almost makes it, but she risks her title and life when she found a mortal—Alia Keralis—on Themyscira’s shore and decides to save her. Turns out, Alia is a Warbringer; a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery. Together, they’re sisters in battle, trying to save the world by preventing a war.

The synopsis already reminds you to the origin story of Diana Prince, doesn’t it? Minus Steve Trevor, of course. Honestly, I’d like to thank Leigh Bardugo for doing her research very well. This version of Diana Prince is surprisingly pretty accurate to her comic and movie counterpart, unlike other characters from DC Icons. Bardugo poured a lot of historical and mythological references to her story. She picked Diana’s elements and backstory to create her own creative story. What I love most about this book is how the gods also have a role to play, not just one god.

Strong women working together? Check. POC main character? Check. A lot of Greek mytholgy references? Also check. Go read Wonder Woman: Warbringer now!

 

⋆ Enjoying The Red Pyramid? Try reading The Storm Runner by J. C. Cervantes ⋆

The Storm Runner

If you don’t know already, Rick Riordan Presents is small branch of Disney Publishing Family, in which features books that are connected or based on ancient myths from various, underrepresented mythology around the world. The books, however, are not set in the same universe as our beloved Riordanverse, but that doesn’t make each books less special or interesting! One of books I’ve read from Rick Riordan Presents is The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes, a book that is inspired by Mayan and Aztec mythology.

So, what makes it similar to The Red Pyramid?

The Storm Runner follows Zane Obispo, who was born with mismatched leg and liked to go on a hike to a volcano right behind his house. What Zane doesn’t know, the volcano is actually a gateaway to another world and he is actually a demigod. When a new girl in his school, Brooks, tells him that Zane is a boy in the Prophecy of Fire—a prophecy where he’s destined to release an evil god from his prison—Zane alongside Brooks returned to the volcano where his adventure begins. In order to save the world, he has to become the Storm Runner, but how does he even do it when Zane can’t walk without a cane?

If you ask me, there are few things Rick Riordan Presents books and Riordanverse books have in common: ancient mythology, a prophecy, save the world from evil deity. Aside from those elements, there are few things that reminds me of The Red Pyramid and a little bit of Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

If you’ve read The Red Pyramid, you know that the book starts with Julius Kane accidentally unleashes the Egyptian gods. That’s also what happens in The Storm Runner. Zane is destined to release one evil god, one way or another. Even though what Zane did isn’t accidental, it feels similar to me because Zane doesn’t have any choice.

Other reason why I found these books pretty similar is how the plot goes. Like Carter and Sadie, Zane and Brooks have a quest to save the world. Although they’re not siblings, but a set of hero and heroine work together to save the world from collapsing? There are some great deals here!

We also know that Carter and Sadie are “recording” a tape in which is a  documentary to their  quest. However, Zane is shown writing this book to document what he did to save the world.

Do you need other reason? Well, it actually feels similar to Percy Jackson and the Olympians. Do you still remember the Great Prophecy where Oracle predicted the rise or downfall of Olympus in the hand of one of the Big Three children? And the Big Three made an oath not to sire any more children? That’s also what happened in The Storm Runner. To prevent the Prophecy of Fire, the Mayan gods swore a Sacred Oath to sire no more demigod children. Sounds familiar, right?

So, if you’re in the mood for middle grade fantasy book with mythological reference, go read The Storm Runner!

 

And that’s it for today! I realized 90% of my recommendations are fantasy books—and I’m sorry if you’re not into the genre. For some people, they don’t want to see two similar books, but for me, I do want to read books with similar elements—as long as one don’t copy another completely. If you’re not one of those people, consider this recommendations as your guide to avoid one of these books.

✧ More of book recommendations here ✧

I wish my recommendation helps you to find what you want to read next! Do you have any book that feels similar to other book? Let me know in the comment section below! See you later!

2 thoughts on “You’ll Like This if You Liked This!

  1. i LOVE THESE KINDS OF RECOMMENDATIONS!! it’s my absolutely favourite pass time to just LOAD on all the recommendations (i’m probably going to drown in books one day but until that day comes….)

    i absolutely love how you listed a comparison of the books, that’s so helpful and really shows how similar the books are. i absolutely adore ‘we hunt the flame’ with all my heart and i tried picking up ‘children of blood and bone’ but ended up putting it on hold bc i was reading too many books at the time and i kept getting lost but YOU’RE CONVINCING ME THAT I NEED TO PICK IT BACK UP AGAIN!!!

    my friends have been pushing me to watch stranger things for the LONGEST time and i really want to but im not huge on shows but im so interested in watching it and reading sawkill girls. love the creepy vibes. fantastic post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aren’t we all?? adding more books to our tbr list and just end up not reading them all???

      YES, please pick children of blood and bone!!! it’s good book but not really my favorite, i’m just glad that we have more representation and really, there are few parallels between atla and children of blood and bone, so go check it out!

      make sure to read sawkill girls near halloween for the vibe if you know what i mean??

      and thank you may!! thank you for your kind comment ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s